CSPH logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CSPH Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown

TL;DR
  • The standalone Public Housing Essentials exam costs USD 160 for NAHRO members and USD 260 for nonmembers.
  • The October 20-29, 2026 prep course alone is USD 1,316 member / USD 1,616 nonmember.
  • The training-and-exam bundle is USD 1,461 member / USD 1,761 nonmember.
  • Exam access expires 14 days after purchase, so buy only when your prep is nearly done.

The CSPH Cost Picture at a Glance

The Certified Specialist of Public Housing (CSPH) is issued by the National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials (NAHRO). Since September 1, 2025, it has replaced two earlier credentials, the Certified Specialist of Occupancy for Public Housing (CSO-PH) and the Certified Specialist of Eligibility and Compliance for Public Housing (CSEC-PH), which were combined into one. That merger matters for budgeting because there is now one pathway, one required exam, and one set of fees to plan around instead of two parallel tracks.

Your total cost depends overwhelmingly on one decision: whether you take NAHRO's instructor-led Public Housing Essentials course or qualify for a training waiver. The exam fee is modest by comparison. Here is the pricing as published in the current NAHRO listings:

ItemNAHRO MemberNonmember
Standalone Public Housing Essentials examUSD 160USD 260
October 20-29, 2026 Essentials prep course (alone)USD 1,316USD 1,616
October 2026 training-and-exam bundleUSD 1,461USD 1,761

Two caveats up front. First, these are the figures on the current listings as reviewed on October 5, 2026; NAHRO can change pricing, so confirm on the official listing before you pay. Second, the pages reviewed did not publish a separate fee for the certification application itself, so check the application listing for any charge before you submit. Budget for that possibility rather than assuming it is free.

The Standalone Exam Fee

The required exam is Public Housing Essentials, previously titled Public Housing Occupancy, Eligibility, Income, and Rent Calculation (PHOEIR). If you see "PHOEIR" in older forums or resale listings, it refers to the predecessor name of the same exam line. The standalone fee is USD 160 for members and USD 260 for nonmembers, a USD 100 difference.

Delivery is on demand through the NAHRO Learning Portal, and access expires 14 days after purchase. That window is the single most important cost-control fact about the exam. If you buy access too early and your preparation slips, you may pay again. Treat the purchase as the final step of your preparation, not the first.

What the sources do not confirm: The current question count, attempt timer, number of attempts allowed, numeric passing score, and pass rate were not verified in the retrieved issuer sources. Older PHOEIR instructions once described two attempts within two weeks and a two-hour timer, but that source page now returns an error and does not establish current Essentials logistics. Do not budget on the assumption of a free retake; read the purchase page's terms before you buy. For more on the unknowns, see our breakdown of the CSPH passing score and what the data shows about pass rates.

Training Cost: The Biggest Line Item

For most candidates, the exam fee is a rounding error next to the training requirement. To earn the CSPH you need Public Housing Essentials training or an approved waiver. If you take the course, the October 20-29, 2026 offering alone runs USD 1,316 for members and USD 1,616 for nonmembers.

The listings and the general catalog describe course size differently, which can confuse comparison shopping:

  • The October listings award 2.6 CEUs.
  • The general catalog lists 24 instructional hours and 2.4 CEUs.

Course hours and CEUs describe learning time, not exam time. They are not a clue about how long the exam takes, and they should not be used to estimate exam length. They can, however, matter later for renewal, since certification renewal requires CEUs recorded on your NAHRO transcript.

A course-version trap: A July Essentials course remains publicly visible but is now marked retired, and it explicitly excludes HOTMA income and asset calculation training. That limitation applies to that specific retired course. It does not tell you whether the current exam covers HOTMA, and it is not a reason to import another issuer's HOTMA syllabus. If you are weighing a cheaper or older training option, confirm that it is the current, non-retired offering that satisfies the requirement.

Bundle vs. Separate Purchases

NAHRO lists a training-and-exam bundle for the October session at USD 1,461 (member) and USD 1,761 (nonmember). Compare that with buying separately:

PathMember totalNonmember total
Course alone + standalone examUSD 1,476USD 1,876
Training-and-exam bundleUSD 1,461USD 1,761
Difference (bundle savings)USD 15USD 115

The arithmetic is simple addition of the published prices: USD 1,316 + USD 160 = USD 1,476 for a member, and USD 1,616 + USD 260 = USD 1,876 for a nonmember. The bundle saves USD 15 for members and USD 115 for nonmembers.

That nonmember gap is worth pausing on. A nonmember pays USD 300 more than a member for the course alone (USD 1,616 vs. USD 1,316) and USD 100 more for the exam. If you are a nonmember buying the course and exam, the combined premium over the member price is roughly USD 400 on separate purchases, or USD 300 on the bundle. Whether NAHRO membership pays for itself depends on the membership fee, which the reviewed sources did not state, so look up the current dues and compare them to those savings before deciding. If your housing authority already holds an agency membership, ask whether you qualify for member pricing before paying the nonmember rate.

Key Takeaway

The bundle is a small discount, not a transformation. The bigger decision is the timing trade-off: the bundle ties your exam purchase to the course timeline, while a separate exam purchase lets you control exactly when the 14-day access clock starts.

Waivers That Can Reduce Spending

The largest potential saving is skipping the course entirely. NAHRO allows a waiver of the specialist-training requirement in certain cases. According to the current certification information, five years of public housing experience plus demonstrated knowledge, or accepted equivalent non-NAHRO training, may support the specialist-training waiver.

Two limits keep this from being a free pass:

  • Ethics training cannot be waived. Every candidate completes NAHRO ethics training.
  • The exam cannot be waived. Even a twenty-year veteran sits the required exam.

If you qualify for the training waiver, your direct cost can shrink to the exam fee (USD 160 or USD 260), the ethics training, and any application charge. That is a drop of well over a thousand dollars compared with the course-based route. The waiver is "approved," meaning you apply and NAHRO decides, so do not assume it before you have been approved.

Eligibility basics also shape your costs. You need a high school diploma or equivalent plus six months of experience, or an associate degree or higher, in which case the six-month experience requirement does not apply. Our CSPH requirements guide walks through the full list, including how experience is documented.

Costs Beyond the Price Tags

A line-item budget misses several real costs. Think through these before committing:

  • Ethics training. Required for certification and for renewal. NAHRO's policy effective January 1, 2026 specifically requires Ethics for Housers for renewal, even though the application still lists alternative legacy ethics course names. The reviewed sources did not state a price for it, so look it up on the NAHRO Learning Portal and add it to your total.
  • Time away from work. A 24-hour instructional course spread over a multi-day window like October 20-29 means scheduling leave or coverage. For people in busy occupancy offices, this can matter more than the dollar price.
  • Prep materials. Predecessor-era study resources circulate on third-party sites, including user-uploaded CSO-PH practice material and question-bank listings for the combined CSEC-PH/CSO-PH credentials. Their alignment with the current CSPH exam is unverified. Paying for them is a gamble unless you can confirm what they cover.
  • A possible second exam purchase. Because access expires after 14 days, an unprepared first attempt can mean paying again.

One cost-reducing thought: many public housing agencies reimburse certification expenses or pay for staff training. Ask your supervisor or HR department before you pay out of pocket, and ask before purchase, since reimbursement policies often require pre-approval.

Renewal and Late-Renewal Costs

Certification is not a one-time expense. The credential expires at the end of the month three years after approval. To renew, you need:

  1. 0.5 CEUs earned after the current certificate's issue date and within the past three years.
  2. Required ethics training.
  3. A recertification application.

All requirements must appear on your NAHRO transcript before you apply. That last detail is a practical trap: coursework completed elsewhere that never lands on your transcript does not count at application time.

0.5 CEUs is a small amount compared with the 2.4 to 2.6 CEUs in the Essentials course, so renewal can often be satisfied with shorter, cheaper offerings. The reviewed sources did not state the recertification application fee, so verify it on the Recertification Application listing.

The expensive mistake: A six-month late-renewal grace period applies after expiration. After that window closes, you must repeat the full certification process, including the exam. Missing the deadline converts a small renewal expense into the full cost of re-qualifying, so put your expiration month on a calendar the day you are approved.

If You Held CSO-PH or CSEC-PH

The September 1, 2025 combination of the former CSO-PH and CSEC-PH credentials into the CSPH affects people who already hold one of them. NAHRO published a notice about the changes on August 19, 2025. The reviewed material in this article does not detail the exact transition mechanics, fees, or conversion terms for existing holders, and we are not going to guess. If you hold a predecessor credential, read NAHRO's announcement and its Certification FAQs and Policies page, which includes the CSPH Fast Track information, and contact NAHRO to confirm what you owe and by when.

The takeaway for budgeting: do not pay for full Essentials training or buy exam access until you have confirmed whether your predecessor credential gives you a lower-cost route. For a plain-language explanation of the credential itself, see What Is CSPH Certification?

Three Budget Scenarios

These scenarios use only published prices and leave out unverified items (ethics training, application fees, membership dues), which you should add yourself.

Scenario A: Member taking the course and exam

A member buys the October bundle at USD 1,461. Adding separate purchases would cost USD 1,476, so the bundle is the cheaper route by USD 15. Add ethics training and any application fee.

Scenario B: Nonmember taking the course and exam

A nonmember pays USD 1,761 for the bundle, or USD 1,876 buying separately. Compare the USD 300 premium over the member bundle against the cost of joining before you purchase. Add ethics training and any application fee.

Scenario C: Experienced staffer with an approved training waiver

Direct published cost is the exam alone: USD 160 as a member or USD 260 as a nonmember, plus ethics training and any application fee. This is the lowest-cost path, but only if the waiver is approved.

Notice how little the exam fee moves the total in Scenarios A and B. The decision that shapes your spending is training versus waiver, then membership status, then bundle versus separate.

Scheduling Prep Around Your Spending

Because exam access expires 14 days after purchase and the course concentrates learning into one window, spend your preparation effort so that money is not wasted. The six preparation topics drawn from the credential application give you a natural order. These are unweighted preparation topics, not a formal weighted blueprint, so do not read them as a promise of how many questions each will carry. See our CSPH exam domains guide for a deeper treatment.

Before the course

Domains 1 and 2: eligibility, income, rents, and utility allowances

  • These are calculation-heavy and benefit most from repetition before the instructor-led sessions.
  • Practice worked scenarios so course time is spent on gaps rather than first exposure.
During the course

Domains 3 and 4: the occupancy cycle, interviewing, and screening

  • Process-driven material that classroom discussion and case examples reinforce well.
After the course

Domains 5 and 6: waitlists, leases, and grievance procedures

  • Review these last, then buy the exam so the 14-day clock starts when you are close to ready.

For a fuller plan, see our CSPH study guide, and for realistic expectations on difficulty, how hard the CSPH exam is. If you want to test yourself before spending on exam access, you can try the free practice questions on the main practice test site.

Weighing Cost Against Career Value

Public housing authorities, redevelopment agencies, and related housing organizations are the natural employers for people with this credential, particularly in occupancy, eligibility, and compliance roles. Whether the investment pays off depends on your situation: an employer who reimburses costs changes the math entirely, and a credential that qualifies you for a promotion or a new position is worth more than one that sits on a resume.

We are deliberately not quoting salary figures or "certification premiums" here, because the reviewed sources do not support any specific number. For a measured discussion, read our CSPH salary guide, the broader is the CSPH worth it analysis, and the current openings overview at CSPH jobs. Check job postings in your own region to see how often the credential is listed as required or preferred before you commit.

If you are still orienting yourself, the basics are covered in What Is CSPH?, and testing windows are covered in CSPH exam dates. When you are ready to drill the material, the practice tests on our main site are built around public housing eligibility, income, rent, and occupancy-cycle topics.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does the CSPH exam cost by itself?

The standalone Public Housing Essentials exam is USD 160 for NAHRO members and USD 260 for nonmembers. Access is on demand through the NAHRO Learning Portal and expires 14 days after purchase.

What is the total cost to get CSPH certified?

With the October 2026 training-and-exam bundle, it is USD 1,461 for members or USD 1,761 for nonmembers, before ethics training and any application fee not stated in the reviewed sources. If you qualify for a training waiver, your published cost drops to just the exam fee.

Can I skip the training course to save money?

Possibly. Five years of public housing experience plus demonstrated knowledge, or accepted equivalent non-NAHRO training, may support a waiver of the specialist-training requirement. Ethics training and the exam cannot be waived, and the waiver must be approved.

What does it cost to renew the CSPH?

Renewal requires 0.5 CEUs earned within the past three years, required ethics training (Ethics for Housers under the policy effective January 1, 2026), and a recertification application. The reviewed sources did not state the application fee, so confirm it on the recertification listing. A six-month grace period applies after expiration; beyond it, you must repeat the full process including the exam.

Is the bundle always cheaper than buying separately?

On the October 2026 listings, yes, but only slightly: it saves USD 15 for members and USD 115 for nonmembers compared with buying the course and exam separately. Buying separately gives you more control over when the 14-day exam access window begins.

Ready to pass your CSPH exam?

Put this into practice with free CSPH questions across every exam domain.